
University postgraduate courses in London
MA, MSc, PGDip and doctorate programmes. Universities publish fees per year, module or credit, so totals stay blank. 9 London courses with fees published by the provider. One publishes every year of the fee: £48,000.
| Provider and course | Route | Length | Fee as published | Tuition to qualification | Not in the fee | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NSPCDCPsych in Counselling Psychology and Psychotherapy (with Middlesex University) | University postgraduate | 4 years | 2026-27: Year 1 £10,800; Year 2 £12,000; Year 3 £13,200; Year 4 £12,000 | £48,000at 2026-27 rates for every year | Books, personal therapy, membership, indemnity | nspc.org.uk 9 Oct 2026 |
| Regent's University LondonMProf Psychotherapy | University postgraduate | Not stated | £11,000 per academic year (Foundation Certificate in Psychotherapy & Counselling: £6,000, September 2026) | Blankuniversity fees are published per year | Not stated | regents.ac.uk 26 Oct 2026 |
| Goldsmiths, University of LondonMA Psychodynamic Counselling & Psychotherapy | University postgraduate | Not stated | 2026/27 home: £12,300 full-time, £8,200 part-time, per year | Blankuniversity fees are published per year | Personal therapy; placement costs | gold.ac.uk 26 Oct 2026 |
| Tavistock RelationshipsPsychodynamic MA / PGDip (couple and individual) | University postgraduate | Not stated | £8,550 per year (home), 2026-27 | Blankfees are published per year | Personal therapy; DBS | tavistockrelationships.org 8 Oct 2026 |
| University of WestminsterCounselling and Psychotherapy PGDip (part-time day) | University postgraduate | 2 years | £4,620 per academic year; start September 2027 | Blankuniversity fees are published per year | Not stated | westminster.ac.uk 8 Oct 2026 |
| Birkbeck, University of LondonMSc Psychodynamic Counselling and Psychotherapy | University postgraduate | 3 years part-time | £8,550 per year part-time (home), 2026-27, January 2027 start | Blankuniversity fees are published per year | Not stated | bbk.ac.uk 8 Oct 2026 |
| University of East LondonMA Counselling and Psychotherapy (part-time) | University postgraduate | Not stated | £2,530 per 30-credit module (home, part-time) | Blankthe fee is published per module | Not stated | uel.ac.uk 9 Oct 2026 |
| University of RoehamptonMA Integrative Counselling and Psychotherapy | University postgraduate | Not stated | 2026 entry, home, first year: MA full-time £11,250; MA part-time £7,500; PGDip part-time £7,500 | Blankfirst-year fee only is published | Personal therapy (at least 35 hours a year), extra supervision, DBS, insurance | roehampton.ac.uk 9 Oct 2026 |
| University of GreenwichPsychotherapy and Counselling MSc | University postgraduate | 3 years part-time | £1,967 per 30 credits (home, part-time) | Blankthe fee is published per 30 credits | 40 hours of personal therapy, private supervision, BACP student membership, DBS | gre.ac.uk 9 Oct 2026 |
Sorted by tuition to qualification, lowest first. Courses without a published total come last.
What to check for this route
Ask which professional body the course leads to. BACP, UKCP, BPC and NCPS each set their own requirements, and some titles, such as counselling psychologist and art psychotherapist, are protected by law and need HCPC registration (HCPC).
Compare totals across every route in what it costs to become a counsellor in London, see the costs outside the fee, or add your own figures in the calculator.
Other routes: Level 4 diploma, Psychotherapy, Child, family and arts.