
Level 4 diploma courses in London
Level 4 diplomas in therapeutic counselling are the usual practitioner-level qualification for counsellors trained outside universities. 13 London courses with fees published by the provider.
| Provider and course | Route | Length | Fee as published | Tuition to qualification | Not in the fee | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chrysalis CoursesLevel 4 Diploma in Counselling Skills & Theory | Level 4 diploma | 2 years | £4,209.43 paid in full, or £4,735.82 by instalments, for the whole course; compulsory registration £95 (year 1) and £125 (year 2) | £4,429.43includes compulsory registration; paid in full | Professional body membership | chrysaliscourses.ac.uk 12 Oct 2026 |
| East London & Essex Counselling & Therapy TrainingLevel 4 Diploma in Therapeutic Counselling | Level 4 diploma | 2 years | £5,400 for two years, including registration of £388 a year; start 10 September 2026 | £5,400includes registration | Not stated | elect-training.co.uk 9 Oct 2026 |
| Kingston CollegeCPCAB Level 4 Diploma in Therapeutic Counselling | Level 4 diploma | 2 years | £5,512 in total for the two-year programme, in three instalments; start 6 September 2027 | £5,512 | Weekly personal therapy (at least 35 hours a year) | stcg.ac.uk 9 Oct 2026 |
| London South East CollegesCPCAB Therapeutic Counselling Diploma (Level 4) | Level 4 diploma | 2 years | £6,600 over two years (£3,300 a year), start 9 September 2026; full GLA funding for eligible London residents | £6,600before any GLA funding | Not stated | lsec.ac.uk 9 Oct 2026 |
| Simms Counselling & TrainingLevel 4 Diploma in Therapeutic Counselling (CPCAB) | Level 4 diploma | 2 years | £3,300 a year, the same in year 2 (confirmed by the provider); payment plan by arrangement; start 5 November 2026 | £6,600 | 40 personal counselling sessions, core books, BACP student membership | simmscandt.co.uk 9 Oct 2026 |
| Reaching Solutions (RSPCT)Diploma in Therapeutic Counselling Level 4 (Integrative) | Level 4 diploma | 2 years | Year 1 £3,200; CPCAB registration £375 (year 1) and £388 (year 2); total £3,575 in year 1 and £3,588 in year 2 | £7,163includes CPCAB registration | 40 hours of personal therapy; placement | reachingsolutionspct.co.uk 9 Oct 2026 |
| Care To ListenCPCAB Level 4 Diploma in Therapeutic Counselling | Level 4 diploma | 2 years | £3,200 a year (September 2026 course), plus CPCAB registration £413 in year 1 and £388 in year 2; £500 non-refundable deposit | £7,201includes CPCAB registration | 40 hours of personal counselling, DBS, BACP student membership, insurance; £500 non-refundable deposit | caretolisten.co.uk 9 Oct 2026 |
| Academy of Counselling EducationLevel 4 Diploma in Therapeutic Counselling (SE London) | Level 4 diploma | 2 years (January 2028 start) | £5,025 for year 1 and £4,750 for year 2, £9,775 in total | £9,775includes CPCAB registration | Not stated | acecourses.org.uk 9 Oct 2026 |
| Astranti ConnectCPCAB Level 4 Diploma in Therapeutic Counselling (London) | Level 4 diploma | 2 years | Pay monthly: £500 deposit, then £390 a month for 12 months in each year, £9,860 in total (January 2027 courses) | £9,860pay-monthly plan | Placement | astranticonnect.com 9 Oct 2026 |
| Mary Ward CentreCounselling Level 4 | Level 4 diploma | 2 years | £6,950 for the whole course (£3,475 a year) | BlankSource being re-checked; last published fee shown | Not stated | marywardcentre.ac.uk 8 Oct 2026 Checking source |
| City LitLevel 4 Diploma in Therapeutic Counselling (Integrative Pathway) | Level 4 diploma | 2 years | £5,199 for the whole course (September 2026 start) | BlankSource being re-checked; last published fee shown | 60 hours of personal counselling; compulsory residential weekend | citylit.ac.uk 9 Oct 2026 Checking source |
| Capital City College (Finsbury Park)Counselling: Therapeutic, Level 4 Diploma (CPCAB) | Level 4 diploma | 2 years | £5,270 for the whole course (£4,670 + £600 learner contribution), start 14 September 2026 | BlankSource being re-checked; last published fee shown | Possible trips and travel | capitalccg.ac.uk 8 Oct 2026 Checking source |
| North West London Counselling & TrainingDiploma in Therapeutic Counselling (TCL4) | Level 4 diploma | 2 years | £3,500 VAT inclusive, plus CPCAB registration £495.60 (year 1) | Blankthe year 2 fee is not published | Not stated | nwlct.london 9 Oct 2026 |
Sorted by tuition to qualification, lowest first.
What to check for this route
For courses starting on or after 1 February 2026, BACP asks for practitioner training at Level 4 or above with at least two years of classroom tuition, 300 guided learning hours and a supervised placement of at least 100 client hours, mostly face to face. Courses taught only online do not qualify (BACP). Ask the provider whether this course meets those rules and whether it is the BACP-approved version of the CPCAB diploma, which includes the Certificate of Proficiency (CPCAB).
Compare totals across every route in what it costs to become a counsellor in London, see the costs outside the fee, or add your own figures in the calculator.
Other routes: University postgraduate, Psychotherapy, Child, family and arts.