
Psychotherapy courses in London
Psychoanalytic, psychodynamic, attachment-based and other psychotherapy trainings. 7 London courses with fees published by the provider. 3 of 7 publish every year of the fee: from £23,600 to £30,240.
| Provider and course | Route | Length | Fee as published | Tuition to qualification | Not in the fee | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Bowlby CentreAttachment Based Psychoanalytic Psychotherapy (4 years) | Psychotherapy | 4 years | £5,900 a year (September 2026 intake) | £23,600at the September 2026 rate for every year | Personal therapy, supervision, mental health placement; interview fee £120 | thebowlbycentre.org.uk 9 Oct 2026 |
| British Psychotherapy FoundationPsychodynamic Psychotherapy training | Psychotherapy | 4 years | 2026-27: Year 1 £5,375; Years 2–4 £7,727 a year (Foundation Course £5,375) | £28,556at 2026-27 rates for every year | Not stated | britishpsychotherapyfoundation.org.uk 8 Oct 2026 |
| Tavistock and PortmanPsychodynamic Psychotherapy (M58, London) | Psychotherapy | 4 years part-time | 2026/27 home: £8,270 a year for years 1–3; £5,430 for year 4. These are the fees for the cohort already in training; 2027/28 fees are not yet set | £30,240at 2026/27 rates for every year; 2027/28 fees not yet confirmed by the provider | Personal therapy and supervision; the provider says their cost varies widely | tavistockandportman.ac.uk 9 Oct 2026 |
| AGIPPsychotherapy Course | Psychotherapy | 3 years | £3,400 for 2026/27, set annually; £160 application fee | Blankfees for later years are set annually and not yet published | Personal therapy and supervision | agip.org.uk 8 Oct 2026 |
| Philadelphia AssociationFull psychotherapy training | Psychotherapy | Not stated | £500 a term (2026/27); £150 application fee | Blankcourse length is not published, so the full fee cannot be added up | Twice-weekly personal therapy and supervision | philadelphia-association.org.uk 8 Oct 2026 |
| The Guild of PsychotherapistsClinical Training in Psychoanalytic Psychotherapy | Psychotherapy | Not stated | £2,850 per annum (current fee, reviewed annually); application fee £150 | Blankcourse length and future fees are not published | Therapy and supervision | guildofpsychotherapists.org.uk 9 Oct 2026 |
| The Site for Contemporary PsychoanalysisClinical Training in Psychoanalysis | Psychotherapy | At least 4 years | £1,500 per annum, payable termly (Trainee Handbook, May 2026) | BlankSource being re-checked; last published fee shown | Personal analysis; supervision; reading | the-site.org.uk 9 Oct 2026 Checking source |
Sorted by tuition to qualification, lowest first. Courses without a published total come last.
What to check for this route
Requirements depend on the register. For BPC psychoanalytic psychotherapy, the trainee's own therapy is at least three times a week, in person, and training lasts at least four years (BPC). UKCP psychotherapist training is at level 7 (UKCP). At three sessions a week, personal therapy adds a large yearly cost: put your therapist's fee into the calculator.
Compare totals across every route in what it costs to become a counsellor in London, see the costs outside the fee, or add your own figures in the calculator.
Other routes: Level 4 diploma, University postgraduate, Child, family and arts.